Experience

As an imminent university grad, more often than not my mind is occupied with thoughts of applying for jobs.

I’ve scrolled through pages and pages and pages of job listings hoping to find something that’ll stand out to me. Something that I fits what I know I’m good at.

As an almost-nurse, finding an actual job, isn’t the hard part. I’m lucky to see countless opportunities in various settings. It’s finding the right one for me that’s the difficult part. The biggest barrier for the jobs I want?

Experience.

Once upon a time, in a land not far away, employers gathered in a room together and set the magical required experience level for all future postings.

Two years.

104 weeks. 730(ish) days.

That’s what is keeping me from my dream job.

I get the value of experience, I really do. If I hadn’t had vastly different clinical placements over the last few years, I would be a much poorer nurse. In a field like mine, experience enhances the art and intuition of nursing. The more you experience, the more you practice your skills, the better nurse you’ll be.

But here’s the thing: I know I can do it. I can start tomorrow and do a damn good job.

What separates me from the people who have worked here for years is drive. I don’t mind putting in the extra hours. I don’t mind taking the extra time to make sure that something is done correctly the first time. I’m efficient and organized and empathetic. I want to learn and I want to do the best by my patients. I’m not looking to scrape by and collect a paycheque. I want to empower patients and help them and let them know that I’ll make sure they have the support that they need. They are not a burden to me, but it is my privilege to help them get through life’s challenging moments.

Just 730 days too soon.

– S.

Image Source

Leave a Reply

